Logo Draft

My logo is based on a passion project of mine. As I’ve said before, I’m a film student with a love for superhero films, and overall superheroes themselves. My focus as a film student is screenwriting, and for the past couple of years I’ve been working on a trilogy of superhero films. The main title for the series is “Aegis,” a word which basically means the defense of someone or something.

I wanted to create this logo because this concept is near and dear to my heart. The characters that I’ve created have been living in my head for years and I’m so excited to finally have them written into a script. In terms of design, the shield and sword represent the word “Aegis,” spelled out vertically on the shield. The shield takes the foreground because the ethical code of the characters asks them to first be a shield, but they will also be a sword if they must. I chose dark colors because while they look natural on a shield and sword, the films have a dark tone to them so I think they fit that well.

In regards to how I created the design, I mostly used the pen tool. I used it to create both the shield and the sword, making the shield all in one go, then the blade of the sword, then the rectangular piece between the blade and the handle (I’m not sure what to call it), and then finally the handle. I used a dark gray onto silver gradient on the shield with a 5 point stroke and solid colors on the sword, with a 14 point stroke on the blade to give it a neat look and 5 point stroke on the handle and rectangular piece. For the text, I chose a font that looked straightforward and easy to read and gave it an inner glow effect.

 

draft logo final-80

Leave a comment